Voice actors Logan Cunningham and Laura Bailey awarded for their portrayals.

The 2021 BAFTA Games Awards took place last night and the winners have been crowned, with several games picking up multiple awards at this year’s show.

18 awards were given out in the virtual awards ceremony which was streamed exclusively online and hosted by television presenter Elle Osili-Wood.

The categories for the 2021 BAFTA Games Awards are:

  • Animation
  • Artistic Achievement
  • Audio Achievement
  • Best Game
  • British Game
  • Debut Game
  • Evolving Game
  • Family
  • Game Beyond Entertainment
  • Game Design
  • Multiplayer
  • Music
  • Narrative
  • Original Property
  • Performer in a Leading Role
  • Performer in a Supporting Role
  • Technical Achievement
  • EE Game of the Year

Logan Cunningham won the ‘Performer in a Supporting Role’ category for his portrayals of Hades, Achilles, Poseidon, Asterius, Charon, and the Storyteller in Supergiant Games’ rogue-like dungeon crawler Hades.

“Thank you, BAFTA,” said Cunningham during his acceptance speech. “Thank you for having this category. Thank you for having an acting category for games for so many years. It’s unique and it’s important. And it’s awesome.”

He also took to Twitter and thanked the Hades development team by adding: “Thank you, [BAFTA Games] for an incredibly fun time. I’m absolutely speechless. Congratulations to my colleagues at [Supergiant Games]. It’s my great honor to work with you”.

In the ‘Performer in a Leading Role’ category, Laura Bailey took home the award for her portrayal of Abby in Naughty Dog’s action-adventure game The Last of Us Part II.

“To the entire cast and the whole team at Naughty Dog, thank you for putting your heart and soul, and commanding excellence – for five-plus years,” said Bailey in her acceptance speech. “I wouldn’t be making this speech if not for all the work that you guys put in.”

She added: “Neil Druckmann and Halley Gross, thank you for being fearless in your storytelling. For writing a character who is unexpected and honest, and for allowing her to be vulnerable without precluding the fact that she can be a powerhouse.”

To see the full list of winners, head over to the BAFTA website.

Aside from the 18 main categories, the awards ceremony also presented the BAFTA Fellowship to Media Molecule studio director Siobhan Reddy. The Fellowship is the organisation’s highest accolade and was awarded to Reddy “in recognition of her pioneering work on advocacy for diversity, inclusion and creative and collaborative working culture.”

An extract from the official British Academy Games Awards brochure feature article spotlighting her career can be read here.

Notable 2021 BAFTA Games Awards winners include Hades which won five BAFTAs; Animal Crossing: New Horizons, The Last of Us Part II, and Sackboy: Big Adventure which all won two each; and The Last of Us Part II which also won the ‘EE Game of the Year’ category.