Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales and Ghost of Tsushima awarded for their music and sound design, respectively.

The winners of the 2021 BAFTA Games Awards were announced last night in the exclusively virtual ceremony.

Awards in 18 categories were handed out with the online event hosted by television presenter Elle Osili-Wood.

The categories for the 2021 BAFTA Games Awards are:

  • Animation
  • Artistic Achievement
  • Audio Achievement
  • Best Game
  • British Game
  • Debut Game
  • Evolving Game
  • Family
  • Game Beyond Entertainment
  • Game Design
  • Multiplayer
  • Music
  • Narrative
  • Original Property
  • Performer in a Leading Role
  • Performer in a Supporting Role
  • Technical Achievement
  • EE Game of the Year

Sucker Punch Productions’ action-adventure game Ghost of Tsushima won the ‘Audio Achievement’ category with senior audio director Rev. Dr. Bradley D Meyer accepting the award.

“First off, thank you to the academy,” said Meyer as he began his acceptance speech. “And I also really want to thank all of the other nominees because each one of them has been a huge inspiration for our team – to really keep pushing ourselves and try to be better.”

Meyer also took to Twitter and added: “So honored to represent my team for this award. And so proud of my teams [Sucker Punch Productions], [PlayStation], and [post-production facility Molinare]. I left a few people out, so apologies to them. [Game audio] takes a village.”

On the more musical side of things, Insomniac Games’ action-adventure game Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales won the ‘Music’ category thanks to the work done by composer John Paesano, music supervisor Scott Hanau, and head of A&R at Sony Interactive Entertainment Alex Hackford.

“We strived to make a positive and lasting impact on people’s lives, and Mile Morales lives up to these ideals when he fights to protect Harlem and the people he loves,” said Insomniac Games creative director Brian Horton in his acceptance speech.

“Special thanks to our fans and our families who support us, and BAFTA for this incredible honor,” Horton added.

Paesano took to Twitter to expressed his gratitude and said: “[W]ow!! [W]hat an honor. [T]hank you [BAFTA Games]. Big thanks to all my collaborators including [Boi-1da] and [Adam Hochstatter] and [the] whole Sony Music Team.”

To see the full list of winners, head over to the BAFTA website.

Apart from the 18 main categories, the awards ceremony also presented the BAFTA Fellowship to Media Molecule studio director Siobhan Reddy. The Fellowship is BAFTA’s highest accolade and was awarded to Reddy “in recognition of her pioneering work on advocacy for diversity, inclusion and creative and collaborative working culture.”

An extract from the official British Academy Games Awards brochure feature article spotlighting her career can be read here.

Notable 2021 BAFTA Games Awards winners include Hades which won five BAFTAs; Animal Crossing: New HorizonsThe Last of Us Part II, and Sackboy: Big Adventure which all won two each; and The Last of Us Part II which also won the ‘EE Game of the Year’ category.