Tracks from retro Taito games will be free for a limited time.

Rhythm game Groove Coaster for Steam is about to get an update that includes new songs and in-game features.

Version 1.2.0 of the Taito-developed game will be rolled out next Wednesday on 12th September (1:00am BST).

10 new songs – some of which are by members of Taito’s in-house band ZUNTATA – will be added for free:

  • Cosio (ZUNTATA) – “Bubble Bobble Medley”
    Arrangement from Bubble Bobble
  • Butaotome – “The Legend of Kage (Butaotome mix)”
    Arrangement from The Legend of Kage
  • Cosio (ZUNTATA) – “Cozmic Operation”
  • Shohei Tsuchiya (ZUNTATA) – “It’s a Pit World (feat. Satomi)”
  • Masaki (ZUNTATA) – “Zawawa”
  • EmoCo – “Happy! Lucky! Future World!”
  • RiraN – “Put Your Hands Up”
  • Daniel Seven – “Moving Faster (feat. Lindsey Marie)”
  • KO3 – “Caramel Mocha”
  • Maozon – “Wandering One”

These additions bring the total song count from 36 up to 46.

The update also includes five new avatars, calibration settings that now make it possible to adjust by 0.1/60 second intervals, the ability to switch Linka the navigator’s voice between English and Japanese, and other in-game conveniences.

A limited time high-score contest will also be held to spotlight the new songs, scheduled to run from 12th September (3:00am BST) to 19th September (3:00am BST).

Players that rank 1st place on the leaderboard for each of the songs will win a DLC code for the 26th September track “Freedom” by Shohei Tsuchiya (ZUNTATA) – a song taken from arcade shooter Dariusburst: Chronicle Saviours, and an unannounced 3rd October DLC.

Five players in the top 1,000 in each leaderboard will be picked at random to receive the “Freedom” track.

Taito Retro Game DLC
(Picture credit: Taito.)

Four songs from retro Taito games will also be available free for a limited time. The track schedules are as follows:

  • 19th September (1:00am BST) – 26th September (1:00am BST)
    Performed by [H.] – “Daddy Mulk (Groove remix)”
    Arrangement from The Ninja Warriors

  • 26th September (1:00am BST) – 4th October (1:00am BST)
    YMCK – “Kikikaikai”
    Arrangement from KiKi KaiKai

  • 4th October (1:00am BST) – 10th October (1:00am BST)
    Cosio (ZUNTATA) – “Burn Alt Air”
    Arrangement from Night Striker

  • 10th October (1:00am BST) – 17th October (1:00am BST)
    Cosio (ZUNTATA) – “Before Ten Orb”
    Arrangement from Metal Black

After the limited-time free offers end, tracks can be purchased individually.