Covers of Chrono Trigger, Super Mario World, and Journey theme music.

Acoustic video game cover band The Hit Points has released its debut self-titled album.

The Hit Points puts a bluegrass spin on theme music taken from a range of games across different console generations. Whether it’s “Guile’s Theme” from Street Fighter, the “Rocket Hideout” music from Pokémon Red/Blue/Yellow, or the “Streets of Whiterun” in The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, the tracks retain what makes them recognisable but also sound fresh thanks to the bluegrass style of arrangements.

The tracklisting is as follows:

01. Those Who Fight Further (Final Fantasy VII)
02. Guile’s Theme (Street Fighter)
03. Presentiment/Chrono Trigger (Chrono Trigger)
04. Rocket Hideout (Pokémon Red/Blue/Yellow)
05. Athletic Theme (Super Mario World)
06. Green Hill Zone (Sonic the Hedgehog)
07. Ballad of the Goddess (The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword)
08. Dance of Pales (Castlevania: Symphony of the Night)
09. Nascence/Road of Trials (Journey)
10. Taliyah, the Stoneweaver (League of Legends)
11. Double Dragon Theme/Mission 1 (Double Dragon)
12. Streets of Whiterun (The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim)

You can check out the music video for “Ballad of the Goddess” below.

The Hit Points comprises Eli Bishop, and Matt Menefee, and for the album the Nashville duo brought in additional musicians to help perform the arrangements.

“The instruments used in a traditional bluegrass ensemble are extremely versatile,” The Hit Points explained. “… we wanted to demonstrate that by merging our passion for [video game] music with those instruments to create a unique project that has never been done before.”

The album is available from iTunes/Apple Music, Bandcamp, and Spotify. The Bandcamp listing includes the album on digital format, as well as a limited edition digipak CD (which also comes with the album download).